About Us

In the State of Karnataka, we have one Customs Zone and two Central Excise Zones under the charge of Chief Commissioners who oversee performance of two Customs Commissionerates and six Central Excise Commissionerates, each headed by a Commissioner.

The present Bangalore Central Excise Commissionerate was originally known as the Mysore Central Excise & Customs Collectorate which later became the Karnataka Central Excise & Customs Collectorate after reorganization of the States in 1956. The Karnataka Central Excise & Customs Commissionerate, which came into effect from 18th July 1957, had the jurisdiction over the entire state of Karnataka. It comprised of four divisions viz., Bangalore, Mysore, Belgaum, and Castle Rock, which over a period of time increased to fifty divisions. In 1983, the Karnataka Customs and Central Excise Collectorate was trifurcated to form Bangalore Central Excise Collectorate, Belgaum Central Excise Collectorate and Karnataka Customs Collectorate. In July 1997, these formations were again re-organized to form Bangalore I, II, III, and Belgaum Central Excise Commissionerates. In January 2000, the Karnataka Central Excise and Customs Commissionerates were further reorganized to form five Central Excise Commissionerates, viz., Bangalore I, II, III, Mangalore and Belgaum Central Excise Commissionerates vide Notification No.59/99 NT dated 10.12.99. The jurisdiction of the entire Karnataka Central Excise and Customs Commissionerates have also been reorganized w.e.f. 01.04.2000 vide Notification No.22/2000 dated 23.02.2000.

The jurisdiction has further undergone re-organization w.e.f. 15.10.2014 vide Notification No.1/2014 and 2/2014 dated 14.10.2014 with increase in two more Commissionerates of Bangalore IV and V under the Bangalore Central Excise Zone.

We are facilitators for the trade, industry and the assessees in compliance to the provisions of Central Excise, Service Tax and the Customs Act.


Chief Commissioner's Office, Bangalore Zone




The Bangalore Central Excise Zone was created on 1.11.2002, consequent to re-organisation of the Commissionerates, consisting of three Central Excise Commissionerates namely, Bangalore I, II and III. The jurisdiction of the Zone extends to seven Revenue Districts in the State of Karnataka namely Bangalore Rural, Bangalore Urban, Kolar, Tumkur, Chitradurga, Davangere and Haveri. Two Commissioners (Appeal) and one Commissioner (Audit) are posted in the Zone.



Chief Commissioner of Central Excise, Bangalore is the cadre controlling authority for Group B, C and D cadres in the State of Karnataka (for Customs, Central Excise, Service Tax and Large Taxpayer Unit). The cadre control jurisdiction of the Chief Commissioner of Central Excise, Bangalore Zone extends to three Zones namely, Bangalore Central Excise Zone (consisting of I, II, III, IV & V C.Ex. Commissionerates; Service Tax-I / II Commissionerates; and LTU), Mysore Central Excise Zone (consisting of Mangalore, Belgaum and Mysore Central Excise Commissionerates) and Bangalore Customs (consisting of Bangalore City, Bangalore Airport/ACC and Mangalore Customs Commissionerates), including Audit and Appeals Commissionerates.

The Chief Commissioner also exercises supervision and control over the working of the Commissionerates in the Zone and is mainly responsible for monitoring revenue collection, disposal of pendencies, redressal of grievances of trade etc. He/She also ensures coordination among the Commissionerates within the Zone and more effective interaction with the Central Board of Customs & Central Excise (CBEC). Further, he/she also discharges certain statutory functions bestowed on him under the Customs & Central Excise statutes.

Copyright 2014
All Rights Reserved, INDIA.

This site is best viewed in 800 X 600 pixels resolution